The 2018 Radical Caribbean SR3 Cup goes down to the wire at South Dakota in Guyana next month (November 10/11), with three drivers still capable of capturing the inaugural regional title. Points leader Stuart Maloney (Barbados) and his brother and fellow SR3 Cup veteran Mark are split by teenage newcomer Isa Deen (Trinidad & Tobago), with a spread of just 27 points from first to third and 75 on offer at the final.
 These three have won seven of the nine races between them, with the fourth winner, T&T’s Kristian Boodoosingh, also in with a mathematical chance of the crown, although success would require huge bad luck for the others. Extra spice will be added to the final three races of the season with the return to his home circuit of 2017 SR3 Cup Winter Champion Kristian Jeffrey, fresh from finishing fourth in the UK Radical Challenge Championship, and the introduction of prize money for the first time.
 At the final round, the regional series for Suzuki-powered Radical sports-racers will be supported by Suzuki Guyana with a US$1,000 prize fund; the weekend’s SR3 Cup Champion Driver – the racer who scores most points across the three races – will receive a cheque for US$750, while the driver who sets the fastest SR3 race lap will win US$250. The local importer will also provide the Guyana Motor Racing & Sports Club (GMR&SC) with a Suzuki Baleno as a Pace Car for all of the weekend’s race programme.
 With two wins each in the opening round at Wallerfield (T&T) in June, then again under lights on the Bushy Park National Circuit in July, Stuart Maloney has led the standings all season, despite failing to win again on the International Circuit in Barbados in September. Deen and Mark Maloney have each held second place in the points as the year has progressed, Deen having won twice, Maloney once, the latter’s non-finish in the second race in September having cost him valuable points. Whoever wins, a new name will join the SR3 Cup Roll of Honour, as none of these three has yet claimed a title.
 Boodoosingh’s victory on the National Circuit in June brought the number of race-winners since the SR3 Cup was launched in 2015 to 12 and he added a second on his return to Barbados in September; Luke Bhola makes it three racers from T&T on the grid for the final round. Sean Maloney joins brothers Stuart and Mark to make up a Barbados trio, while the hometown drivers Jeffrey, Mark Vieira and Calvin Ming, are all previous SR3 Cup race-winners.
 The GMR&SC’s two-day International Race of Champions, dubbed ‘Ignite’ for 2018, also features the final rounds of the Seaboard Marine Caribbean Motor Racing Championship (CMRC) on two and four wheels, alongside the GMR&SC’s National classes. Within a programme of 27 races, with action for the SR3 Cup starts on Saturday with Practice, Qualifying and the first of three 20-lap races. Testing will available in the days before, as Radical Caribbean’s technical support team is set to be on site from mid-week.
 Run to the rules that have applied in Barbados since 2015, the regional series only caters for the Suzuki-powered Radical SR3 RS and not for Radicals of different specifications being raced in the region by drivers such as Jamaica’s Kyle Gregg and David Summerbell Jnr. BPCI was appointed sole distributor for Radical Sportscars in the Caribbean last year; based in the East Midlands city of Peterborough, the British manufacturer has built more than 2,000 cars, progressing from the iconic Clubsport model revealed in early 1996 and which established the company’s reputation, to the SR8, which brought Le Mans Prototype pace to the UK national racing scene.
Radical Caribbean SR3 Cup 2018
Provisional entry list – round 4
10 Calvin Ming (GUY), Ming’s Products & Services/Ming’s Optical Radical SR3 RS
16 Stuart Maloney (BAR), Bushy Park Barbados Radical SR3 RS
17 Kristian Boodoosingh (T&T), CR Boodoosingh & Sons Ltd/Fast Parts/Torco Race Fuels/Richtune/Garage 61/TechPoint Tuning Radical SR3 RS
22 Sean Maloney (BAR), Bushy Park Barbados Radical SR3 RS
58 Mark Vieira (GUY), Radical SR3 RS
86 Mark Maloney (BAR), Rock Hard Cement/Bushy Park Barbados Radical SR3 RS
190 Isa Deen (T&T), Fast Parts/Torco Race Fuels/Car Boutique/Redline Oils/
Richtune/Bhola's Marketing Radical SR3 RS
261 Kristian Jeffrey (GUY), Radical SR3 RS
888 Luke Bhola (T&T), Bholas Marketing/Fast Parts/Torco Race Fuels/Richtune/Garage 61/TechPoint Tuning Radical SR3 RS
Points after round 3: 1st Stuart Maloney, 167 points; 2nd Deen, 154pts; 3rd M Maloney, 140pts; 4th Boodoosingh, 94pts; 5th Sean Maloney, 70pts; 6th Suleman Esuf (BAR), Express Imports/S Y Adams/Prosales Radical SR3 RS, 69pts; 7th Bhola, 38pts; 8th Justin Maloney (BAR) - Bushy Park Barbados Radical SR3 RS, 28pts; 9th Vieira, 10pts
Qualifying rounds: Jun 23/24, Frankie Boodram Wallerfield International Raceway (T&T); Jul 7, Bushy Park National Circuit (BAR) – Night Races; Sep 1/2, Bushy Park International Circuit (BAR); Nov 10/11, South Dakota (GUY)
For media information only. No regulatory value
For more information on Bushy Park Barbados: or
For further media information, contact Bushy Park Barbados Media Team: